top of page
  • Writer's pictureShae

Maybe Mine - (Episode 2) Makomatch


NOELLE:


I've gotten absolutely nothing done tonight except for burning my dinner and creeping on SimDa. I can't believe that people actually use this place to find someone to date or even just hook up with. Any of them could secretly be serial killers behind their profile. Yeah, no thank you. I'd rather stay single.

It's needless to say that I was a little skeptical of everything Poppy said about this Makomatch guy, but when I looked up his profile on Simda, he actually existed. I might've opened up his profile pic more than once. His hair was messy and black, his eyes midnight. Scars marred one of his cheeks and even cut his lip, but they did no damage his good looks. Even better, there was post after post on his profile about how ace his services were. One girl even wrote that she wished her fake date was real. Please. As if a guy would drop a biz like this to settle down with someone, which is exactly what I need.

MAKO:

I'm on my third beer when I get a notif from SimDa. I immediately brace myself for the story that always follows the notif. Sometimes it's a date for a party their ex is also going to. Sometimes they want to plan a coincidental date and make someone jealous. Sometimes they just need a date for a wedding so they aren't the only one in the friend group without a date. It's always the same, and when they ask around the holidays, I always give the same basic copy/paste response. I usually get some disappointed replies or some sad face emojis. But this girl, missgrinch, calls me out on my bs right away.

She seems like a little pistol; not the type that usually drop in my DMs. After a messy Thanksgiving one year, where my client caught feelings, I swore off fake dates on the holidays. I'm not going back on that quite yet, but I take a look at her profile and see her profile pic is a Grinch wearing a bow, I decide I have to hear her out, then make my decision. Maybe it's something that's not a big deal and it'll be a quick and easy paycheck. But something deep inside of me tells me it won't be...and for some reason that excites me.

84 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page